Week 3 so far: Fail

15 Jul

This week, I travelled to a conference for work in Florida. And they had lobster. And crab legs. And steak. And salad, bread, appetizers and desserts. And that was just one meal. I didn’t keep track. And I didn’t work out in the hotel, beyond a couple of runs up and down 7 flights of stairs. All in all, a pretty bad series of days. I’m guessing that I might be able to claim I broke even on calories in vs. calories out a few of the days, but certainly I didn’t make any progress until today.

Checkpoint for Week 3 is on Saturday, we’ll have to see what the damage is.

Am I discouraged?

A little bit, but it happens sometimes. I’ve never been the sort to dwell on failure or when I make a mistake. After a few days out of sync, I have to get back to the routine of it all: getting up in the morning for Farrell’s, measuring food portions, and entering everything into the Bodybugg web application. Being discouraged won’t help me get anything accomplished, so I have to push it out of my mind, and get back on the wagon.

The routine is important.

When I’m tired in the morning, and I don’t want to get up, I just convince myself that if I can just get to class, I’ll be all set. And it’s totally true: once I’m there, I’m almost always ready to roll. I’m energized and the rest of the day flows from there. You might notice from the food entries that I’m often eating the same recipes frequently. I’ll admit I do like the recipes, but it’s also the habit of knowing the recipes and trusting them.

So, I’m back in the saddle and ready to roll. I got on my bike this morning and rode downtown, perhaps 4 miles each way with a good monster hill and a steady grade on the way back. If I play the rest of the week right – I’ve got today and Friday to make up at least a little ground, I can maybe breakeven for the week or maybe make a little dent at weighin on Saturday.    

Leave a Reply

